What I’m…

9 Sep

I love Sundays. To me they mean time to rest and relax, spend time with God, catch-up around the house, and prepare for a fresh new week. I definitely have my share of getting ready for the upcoming week today; but welcome to the life of a college student! Nothing new there. Of course I thought that some blog time this morning would be the perfect way to do what i’m best at; procrastinate. And here we are! haha.

What I’m Eating

IMG 4025

egg whites + sunny side up egg with 1.5 servings oatmeal and banana

What I’m Moving

NewImage

My bod! How much do I love, love, love Fall time?! The weather has been b-e-a-utiful this week and I have been moving my exercise outdoors as much as possible to take full advantage. Will there be a few 5k’s this season for me? I would very much like to. We shall see! Today’s exercise was just a simple, refreshing walk this morning. It was glorious.

What I’m Laughing About

Jenna

I have to thank Courtney for introducing me to the hilarious Jenna Marbles and her Youtube Channel. This girl makes freakin’ cracks me up. The first time I found her videos I literally spent a whole evening watching video after video. Now anytime I need a quick break from things to just laugh, Jenna’s got me covered. Her style is on the crude side…as Courtney put it, you’ve been warned! Check out this one of “My Boyfriend Does My Makeup.” I’m laughing just thinking about it.

What I’m Making

IMG 4029

Pumpkin Cheesecake Pie. Yup, it’s definitely that time of the year again. Pumpkin everything! This recipe turned out so good. It will definitely be in the regular rotation around here.

IMG 3996

and more turkey muffins. So fun, so easy!

IMG 4001

What I’m Celebrating

IMG 4030

Did you know yesterday was National Peanut Day? The sweetest man ever working at the grocery store was passing out roasted peanut packages at the entrance. Well don’t mind if I do! I incorporated it into a snack by mixing ricotta, pumpkin, peanut butter, cinnamon, and stevia together and mixing in the whole package of peanuts. 9 times out of 10, you’ll find me eating nut butter over actual nuts. But I forgot how much I really do like them!

What I’m Learning

NewImage


Not much apparently. Kidding, kidding. I’m happy to say that Chemistry is going a bit more smoothly now, thanks to a ton of hard work, the help of friends, and an extra lecture class with a much more talented professor. I know I feel incredibly accomplished after this semester to say the least.

I’m also really enjoying my Food Production class. We’ve been learning about college cafeteria trends as well as different positions that dietitians can hold with a management/food production focus. Β I will do a post soon more about this stuff.

What I’m Trying

IMG 4023

Kristen just recently posted a new giant microwave muffin recipe and does it really surprise anyone that I needed to try it asap? We’re basically food twins, so it was a no-brainer.

I topped mine with peanut butter and peanut flour frosting (peanut flour + almond milk + salt + a splash of vanilla syrup). The picture speaks for itself, no?

Okay, your turn! Fill in the blank with whatever you want. What I’m….

Kristi

15 Responses to “What I’m…”

  1. Tracey September 9, 2012 at 6:42 pm #

    What went into making your oats? Secondly, where do you go to school…that picture of the leaves etc is BEAUTIFUL!

    • Sweetly Fit September 9, 2012 at 7:42 pm #

      Kansas State. πŸ˜‰
      Those are just very simple oats. 3/4 cup old fashioned oats, 1 cup water, 3/4 cup almond milk, and cinnamon!

      • Tracey September 9, 2012 at 8:08 pm #

        I need to visit Kansas!
        Thanks for the oat recipe:)

      • Tracey September 9, 2012 at 8:15 pm #

        Oh, silly also meant to ask..do you prep them the night before? I’ve been eating overnight oats the whole summer, swear I forgot how to make regular oats:)

      • Sweetly Fit September 10, 2012 at 12:01 am #

        It just depends on the day really. Sometimes I will make it the night before if I know I won’t have much time. Other times I’ll cook it on the stove-top in the morning. It all works!

  2. Amanda @ .running with spoons. September 9, 2012 at 7:11 pm #

    Hey girl! So great to hear that you’ve been doing well πŸ˜€ I’ve been moving outside a lot lately as well! Couldn’t agree more that Fall is absolutely gorgeous, and I’m trying to savor every minute of it before it turns into winter. And I really, REALLY wish that I’d get bitten by the baking/cooking bug again! I’ve been slacking in the kitchen all summer and I hope that the cooler weather will be some motivation to get back in there again, because I miss homemade cookies warm out of the oven!

    • Sweetly Fit September 9, 2012 at 7:40 pm #

      Fall and Winter are the perfect baking seasons. I’m so excited!

  3. Alexandra September 9, 2012 at 7:15 pm #

    I’m procrastinating as we speak too!! Shhh I won’t tell if you won’t πŸ˜‰ haha
    That pumpkin bake looks AMAZING and so does that microwave protein cake with the frosting mmm Can I come live in your kitchen?!
    Glad to hear chem is going better too! Enjoy the rest of your Sunday!!

  4. Danielle @ Clean Food Creative Fitness September 9, 2012 at 7:59 pm #

    Pumpkin Cheesecake pie sounds amazing!!!! I love everything you make!

  5. Courtney September 9, 2012 at 9:09 pm #

    Those giant muffins look delicious!!! πŸ˜€

  6. FitnJess September 9, 2012 at 9:28 pm #

    ooo I want to try that giant muffin!! And I also love turkey muffins. They are so easy and yummy!

  7. teabagginit September 9, 2012 at 9:52 pm #

    What I’m … using my crock pot for: lots of bone broth, a stewed whole chicken, and slow cooked beef tongue! πŸ™‚ so much fun to play with new cuts of meat in the slow cooker!
    good luck with chem this semester! i know that those were my least favorite classes. i’m in industrial food service this quarter, too, so i’ll be putting in some hours in the school caf.

  8. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate September 9, 2012 at 11:58 pm #

    I ❀ Sundays! πŸ™‚

  9. Chelsea @ Chelsea Runs September 10, 2012 at 2:02 am #

    What I’m feeling.. Super tired. 60 minutes of rugby is hard! That giant muffin looks amazing, and I’m totally with you on the fall thing. I LOVE fall.

Leave a Reply

