Numbers

12 Sep

I decided to do something I haven’t done in a while: run outdoors. The weather has been so nice that I knew I needed to get out in it, so I did! It felt amazing.

Number of miles I ran this morning…3.33.

IMG 4055

Those triple threes were by complete accident by the way. It was right on the dot upon taking my very last step up to my apartment. Good luck? Let’s hope so.

Number of times I almost got hit by a biker…2.

NewImage

I don’t know how it is elsewhere, but in my college town, the bikers literally come at you like the above photo. Aka: full speed ahead you better jump out of the way because I own this sidewalk.

I deal with this on a daily basis walking around campus. In the past, I would try to get out of the way by swaying either left or right; but it never.fails. that I end up swaying the same way they decide to sway as well. Yeah…doesn’t end so pretty. So now I usually roll with the “stop moving, stand still, close eyes, and hope for the best” kind of approach. However this method is not 100% full proof either….but I digress.

What I Ate Wednesday Time! Just a few snaps of some recent eats.

IMG 4056

dough bowl! Remember these? overnight: 1/2 cup oats, 1/2 cup cottage cheese, 1/2 cup greek yogurt, 1/4 cup blueberries, 1 packet stevia.

topped with almond butter. so good.

What veggie has been getting a lot of attention from me for lunches lately?

Jicama! I love the crunch and slightly sweet taste it has…it’s like the veggie version of an apple.

IMG 4051

turkey avocado mustard spinach wrap, jicama and cukes, goat cheese and crackers

IMG 4059

grapes, pumpkin cheesecake loaf (scroll down), cottage cheese

IMG 4052

terriaki salmon with veggies and a seasoned english muffin. For the salmon I used my sauce mixture here minus the peanut butter. I pan seared it on the stovetop then finished it in a 350 degree oven for about 10 minutes. I ❤ salmon.

IMG 4046

pumpkin cheesecake pie with peanut butter and real whipped cream.

So here is the link to that pumpkin cream cheese loaf pictured previously above.

And here are my photos of the big event:

during…

IMG 4035

right out of the oven…

IMG 4036

cooled, sliced, and put straight into mouth…

IMG 4043

Yum.

My motto for this Fall is…Pumpkin Everything!!! And when I’m not eating pumpkin, i’ll be throwin’ back kabocha slices. Done deal.

My brain needs a break so I’m signing off for the day. Time to relax. Have a great night!

Kristi

12 Responses to “Numbers”

  1. StoriesAndSweetPotatoes September 12, 2012 at 11:40 pm #

    Oh yes, get some kabocha in there. That’s my new favorite thing.

  2. Alexandra September 13, 2012 at 1:31 am #

    That’s great you had fun on your run! I bet it was nice to break things up 🙂
    I freaking LOVE jicama too– especially dipped in peanut butter. It’s so crunchy and delicious!
    Oh and I like your fall motto, I think I’ll adopt that one too 😉

  3. Chelsea @ Chelsea Runs September 13, 2012 at 1:59 am #

    Great run! I love running outside, especially when you haven’t done it in a while. It’s refreshing! I don’t think I’ve ever had jicama. Everything pumpkin is definitely a great motto!

  4. Meg September 13, 2012 at 2:30 am #

    seriously babe, why don’t we live together? that salmon looks OUT OF THIS WORLD. I had a huge seafood feast tonight with Mom and Dad and thought of you the entire time. NO LIE. I am so proud of you for going outside for a run! It’s great to switch things up 🙂 wooohooooo!

    • Sweetly Fit September 13, 2012 at 9:41 pm #

      your seafood feasts don’t stand a chance against mine though, haha! We need to go on a seafood date asap. 🙂

  5. Tara September 13, 2012 at 6:56 am #

    Haha, I recently started riding a bike and hate myself for it 😉 But in the UK and Australia, it’s actually illegal to ride your bike on the sidewalk. There are a couple points along my ride where I sometimes sneak onto the sidewalk for a shortcut, but I’m always super mindful of pedestrians and will stop to let them pass.

    Most people think I’m crazy for riding a bike in London, but like I tell everyone: you just have to assume that everyone is a moron and is going to hit you. My spatial awareness has increased ten fold!

  6. Lisa September 13, 2012 at 8:20 pm #

    Great job on the run! Its nice to change things up some of the time.
    I loooove jicama too, but don’t buy it nearly enough! Its hard to find around here which is a shame.
    Yep, I’ve been eating TONS of kabocha and pumpkin. Its amazing. And I can’t stop.

  7. Courtney September 13, 2012 at 9:01 pm #

    Oh my… that pumpkin bread looks incredible!!

  8. katalysthealth September 17, 2012 at 1:38 pm #

    Ummm yum. Yum to everything here. Holy smokes

Leave a Reply

