Pumpkin and Peppermint

26 Sep

It’s What I Ate Wednesday! No way was I missing out on two weeks in a row. Things have been busy, but never too busy for food, right? Let’s get right down to it.

You are going to notice an abundance of orange in this WIAW of recent eats…can’t say I didn’t warn ya. Pumpkin is finding it’s way into anything and everything, and let’s not forget about sweet potatoes and kabocha. I am glowing orange. And as you will also see, peppermint extract was a recent purchase…and I have been getting my money’s worth. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Breakfasts

IMG 4110

Julie’s Sweet Potato Overnight Noatmeal! I followed her recipe to a tee but added some pumpkin pie spice (my fav) and topped with cream cheese. It was a winner and nice change of pace from my usual breakfasts!

Lunches

I have been loving leftovers for lunches lately. It’s kind of fun to take one leftover component and add it with a few other things, then boom: you’ve got yourself a whole new meal.

IMG 4075

This lunch included leftovers from a biscuits and gravy dinner, which by the way I completely recommend checking out the linked recipe. Good stuff, and a big comfort food for me!

Snacks

IMG 4108

2% greek yogurt with chocolate mint squares…aka a cross between thin mint cookie heaven and andes chocolate mints gloriousness. I picked up peppermint extract the other day and have been using it in everything! I am in love with chocolate mint flavor. Usually when I do sweet things, I want a flavor like chocolate and peanut butter? I used to think, “Mint for desserts? Get out of here.” But I take it back. I’m a convert! It works so well.

IMG 4078

peanut flour and jelly sandwiches

IMG 4086

Chocolate Peanut Butter Quest Bar and banana + peanut butter. <review coming soon> This has been repeating a ton lately. Quest bar’s new all-natural line is killer! More on that later.

Dinners

IMG 4061

Roasted kabocha squash! Hands down my favorite squash of all time. Nothing even comes close, especially when you roast it in coconut oil and sea salt. I usually do 400 degrees: 20 minutes one side, 20 minutes on the flipped side, then 5 minutes with the broiler turned on so they get spotty and caramelized.

I had them with stuffed peppers:

IMG 4060

These were stuffed with lean ground beef, sharp cheddar, laughing cow, taco sauce, garlic and onion powder. Mexican style!

IMG 4062

Janetha’s Pumpkin Enchiladas made an appearance last night!

IMG 4100

Man these were good. I used chicken instead of turkey and lots of sharp cheddar on top. I also added in some taco sauce into the mixture. You really don’t taste that much of a “pumpkiny” flavor…the pumpkin mainly lends the dish an awesome creaminess that makes it to die for!

I also spotted aย new pumpkin pasta recipe on Janetha’s blog. Guess what I’m making next?

IMG 4107

Desserts

IMG 4104

Here I go again with the peppermint extract!

Thin Mint Cookie Fro-Yo:

  • 1 cup greek yogurt
  • 1 scoop chocolate protein powder (I used Dymatize casein)
  • 1/3 cup almond milk
  • 1 tbsp dark cocoa powder
  • a small dash of peppermint extract (use sparingly, then add more if needed. It’s strong!)
  • additional sweetener, if desired

Directions: Mix everything together in a bowl. Stick in freezer for 2-3 hours. Set out at room temp about 10 minutes to de-thaw slightly. Then mash everything up and briefly blend with a stick blender (immersion blender) until it’s at ice cream consistency.

That what I’ve got for today! Time to go conquer the ever-growing to-do list. I do have some product reviews to post soon, so check back.

Have a great Wednesday everyone!

Kristi

16 Responses to “Pumpkin and Peppermint”

  1. janetha September 26, 2012 at 8:39 pm #

    omg i need to make those enchis again! and yes, let me know if you enjoy the pasta if you make it! xoxo

  2. Alexandra September 26, 2012 at 9:27 pm #

    AHH YUM! Lovin all these eats girl, you always have the most amazing lookin WIAW ๐Ÿ˜€
    Oh and umm quest bars with pb on them? YESSSS. I’m so freakin obsessed with those bars, it’s crazy haha

  3. Ellie @ healthy belly ellie September 26, 2012 at 10:41 pm #

    I totally inadvertently skipped out on a WIAW last week too. I just didn’t have the time to squeeze it in there. OH SCHOOL. I am so happy you were able to do one this week (I was excited that I was able to post one too!) – I’m seriously loving the pumpkin too. I know it’s a bit cliche in the food blog world.. Pumpkin is everywhere, but can you blame us? It’s delicious. I seriously think I’m turning a little orange too. Haha. Oh, and go mint and choc!

  4. natashaboruszok1992 September 26, 2012 at 10:46 pm #

    Wow pumpkin enchiladas sound awesome

  5. Sable Weisman (@SquatLikeALady) September 27, 2012 at 2:28 am #

    ahh your eats always look so great and nutritious! I want to be roommates. haha

  6. cleanfoodcreativefitness September 27, 2012 at 11:27 am #

    Love all the peppermint love! One of my favorite flavors! I am currently obsessed with quest bars too! I love that they have the natural line! My favorite flavor is the strawberry cheesecake!

  7. jessielovestorun September 27, 2012 at 12:57 pm #

    LOVE Pumpkin Enchil. So delicious ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Lisa September 27, 2012 at 7:54 pm #

    Yes! I’ve been totally and completely obsessed with pumpkin, kabocha, and sweet potatoes. I don’t see it as a problem yet;) At least I’ll be “tanned” throughout the winter?
    Everything looks wonderful, as usual!

  9. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate September 27, 2012 at 11:59 pm #

    Haha now I really want biscuits and gravy!

  10. Shreya @ rushofendorphins September 30, 2012 at 1:30 am #

    That peanut flour and jelly sandwich looks great! And I’ve made 2 batches of your protein banana nut cake in muffin form and they are to die for! I’ve got my family hooked as well ๐Ÿ˜‰

  11. Meg September 30, 2012 at 3:03 am #

    OH HUNNIE!!!!!! I actually get SO SAD every time I read your posts because I just wish we lived together HAHAHAHAHA. I love you so much, girl โค SO MUCH. I love you. YES YES YES.

    Ok, so I need to make that breakfast of yours and I totally agree! Kabocha IS the best! I haven't been able to find one since August though

  12. courtneybentley September 30, 2012 at 6:15 am #

    Thank you for reminding me of Kobacchu Squash., I have been having an affair with Spaghetti Squash…<3 Love all of your recipes, very unique and sound savory and satisfying! Love and Shine CourtStar

  13. JM September 30, 2012 at 2:26 pm #

    PB & J sandwich — so standard in my day. I’m like a little kid with that. Haha. Although I do healthify them by making them on Ezekial bread and w/ natural PB. Love that you eat them healthy too!

  14. myrumblingtummy October 1, 2012 at 12:06 am #

    Are you trying to gain weight/build muscle? All your meals look so hearty & big & protein packed! I’m trying to cut so that’s why I’m asking because ME WANT lol ๎

    • Sweetly Fit October 1, 2012 at 12:43 am #

      I am working on building muscle. I also have a pretty active lifestyle so I need to eat a good amount to fuel that activity!

  15. I’m loving the Sweet Potato Overnight Noatmeal! Yum!! Sweet potatoes are starting to pop up in all sorts of recipes lately and I’m loving it! What a tasty way to boost your daily fiber intake.

Leave a Reply

