Cooking in Mass Quantities

1 Oct

Hello Monday! Hello October!

Time to start a new week/month and make it a good one. That’s my mind set. Things always go better when you’re thinking positive…which by the way, is usually easier said than done. But I’m stating it here to keep me accountable. Who’s with me?

Yesterday for Sunday Food Prep, I wanted to make something that would leave me with a lot of leftovers that I could easily add things to to make different meals throughout the week. This immediately made me think of an old favorite, Jamie Eason’s Monster Meatloaf!

Meatloaf 2

Meatloaf

I follow her recipe fairly closely, but here are the changes I make:

  • 2 packages of ground turkey instead of 3 (1 lean, 1 extra lean)
  • 1/2 cup oats
  • sauteed mushrooms, red bell pepper, and onion
  • 1/3 cup ketchup for topping
  • 2 egg whites
  • up the tomato paste to 1/4 cup

It is so. good. It has a lot of liquid flavor, which helps to keep it nice and juicy. I’m pretty happy I have a whole pan of it to eat this week. 🙂

Since things have been very busy lately, I’m really relying on my food prep for meals. The larger amount I can make at one time, the better, and helps to balance the craziness that is my life right now! It got me thinking about some of my other quick, easy, and large quantity favorites that can be made in advance.

Other options:

Those came to mind, but mostly all meals can easily be doubled or tripled. I will be making an effort to do this more, although I would love to be able to cook a new meal every single night. But let’s be realistic here. I just don’t have that time. So I’ll cook when I can, and make it count!

Do you have any go-to large quantity meals? We’re all busy; lets help each other out and share!

Have a great night everyone!

Kristi

9 Responses to “Cooking in Mass Quantities”

  1. Alexandra October 1, 2012 at 10:30 pm #

    NICE! That recipe sounds great for prepping for the week! I need to get back into makin cool recipes for food prep– it’s been the same ol same ol boring grilled chicken over here for far too long haha 😉

  2. StoriesAndSweetPotatoes October 1, 2012 at 11:42 pm #

    I just made a pot of sloppy joes that ended up being like 4lbs, lol.

    • Sweetly Fit October 2, 2012 at 12:03 am #

      mmm that sounds good! I haven’t had a sloppy joe in forever.

  3. Chelsea @ Chelsea Runs October 1, 2012 at 11:48 pm #

    I cannot wait until I’m able to mass produce my meals. It looks so fun and I love to cook!!

  4. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate October 1, 2012 at 11:57 pm #

    I actually never cook in large quantities! I just make quick meals!

  5. Amanda @ .running with spoons. October 2, 2012 at 12:06 am #

    Here’s to making this month a good one, for sure 🙂 And I wish I had a good massive recipe to share, but I’m all about quick meals. I’ve actually gotten a bit lazy when it comes to cooking, and most of my meals just involve anything that I can make in 10 or 15 minutes. Not the most exciting way to eat, but it works for now.

  6. Tara October 2, 2012 at 7:34 am #

    I always cook massive portions! I just made about 10lbs of chilli, haha. It’s so easy to throw everything in a pot and let it simmer, and then you have meals for the whole week.

    • Sweetly Fit October 3, 2012 at 4:35 pm #

      chili freezes well, too, so you can make even MORE!

  7. jessielovestorun October 3, 2012 at 9:34 am #

    Love this recipe. I would never of thought to make a mass amount of meatloaf!

Leave a Reply

