I’m Late.

18 Oct

8 days. 8 DAYS since I’ve last posted?

Truth is, I don’t even know where this week has gone.

I upload my photos today and find 53 from the week. Hmph. When did I eat that?

IMG 4182

[overnight bowl: 1/2 cup whipped cottage cheese, 1/2 cup greek yogurt, 1/2 cup thick oats, 1/4 cup blueberries, stevia, almond butter]

Or this?

IMG 4159

[two eggs, cinnamon blueberry oatbran eggwhite panckake, syrup for dipping]

Ok, I do remember eating that. That’s been my new favorite combo! I have been eating a ton of egg lately. I always eat a lot of eggs, but it’s been even more than usual. I love them! Depending on what i’m making, I use both whole eggs or liquid egg whites. They have different uses. πŸ™‚

But anyways, I completely missed my usual What I Ate Wednesday post….fail….in favor of knocking out an accounting project. Not because I would rather be doing accounting, but because I wanted to get it duuuuun with if you catch my drift. I’m finding out that I am actually rather good at accounting. Does that mean I like it? Well, let’s just say I’m planning on sticking with my dietetics plan. πŸ˜‰

So, yeah. I’m late. But hey, I have food pics today and that’s what matters!

IMG 4157

[turkey, colby jack, sprouts, spinach flat out wrap, s&p cucumbers]

IMG 4163

[three cheese omelet with mozz, laughing cow, blended cottage cheese, and garlic gold nuggets. cukes, sweet poato rounds with peanut butter and dark cocoa sauce]

I’m really glad you all understand that my life is crazy right now, and sometimes you just have to skip out on the fun things in order to take care of business.

Sometimes it’s easy to fall into the “all or nothing” mind set, but it doesn’t have to be that way. I can 100% go to school, work, exercise, blog, have a social life, etc, etc….as long as I learn to do it in the right amounts.

IMG 4186

[2% greek yogurt mixed with 2 tbsp dark cocoa and stevia…aka chocolate mousse]

IMG 4167

[pumpkin protein dough with sun warrior, kashi cereal, thick oats, pumpkin, pumpkin pie spice, and peanut butter]

By no means do I need to either blog every single day OR stop blogging altogether. Life is learning how to manage things. College life is learning how to manage complete chaos, haha. Seriously, I didn’t know what hard work was until I started college. And I think I’m finally getting the hang of it.

IMG 4168

[chinese take-in: chicken fried rice]

IMG 4187

[turkey beef meatballs] Loved them Naomi! ❀

IMG 4188

[with roasted spaghetti squash, marinara, and toast for dipping]

It is SO EASY to let stress eat you up and make you miserable. Ugh, I’ve been there over and over again. NowΒ I’m realizing that things are never going to be perfect and there will undoubtably always be twists and turns along the way. But guess what? There’s good news. It always works out. If you think about things that have happened to you in the past, haven’t they always somehow worked out? Even if it wasn’t the way you originally thought it would happen.

IMG 4190

[honecrisp with zucchini protein cake]

IMG 4204

[double fudge brownie with dark cocoa powder, 2% greek yogurt cloud]

So the point is, there really is no need to worry. There is no need for constant stress, anxiety, fear, Β or weight on your shoulders. Why do that to yourself when things are going to be just peachy anyways?

I guess all of this talk is more geared towards myself. I admit to being hard on myself, probably too hard at times. Sometimes I just need a good reminder that life is passing by and instead of filling my mind with unnecessary grief, I should be enjoying the moment. After all, today is a gift…that’s why its called the present.

Until next time,

Kristi ❀

16 Responses to “I’m Late.”

  1. Tracey October 18, 2012 at 11:04 pm #

    Yum, Yum , Yum!!! Even busy your meals are awesome! Can I have your recipe for your Cinnamon blueberry oat-bran egg-white pancake? BTW: What are the amounts (of ingredients) used to make your pumpkin protein dough? Would love to recreate tomorrow! Thanks so much for all the wonderful ideas:)

    • Sweetly Fit October 18, 2012 at 11:16 pm #

      Sure! Sometimes I’m a little too lazy to put the amounts in the post. πŸ˜‰ The pancake is just 1/2 cup oatbran, 1/2 cup egg whites, a handful of blueberries, and a dash of cinnamon and baking powder. I also sometimes add in mashed banana, pumpkin, applesauce, or greek yogurt for a creamier pancake texture. All good!

      Pumpkin Protein Dough: 1/2 cup pumpkin, 1 serving vanilla protein powder, 15 grams oats, 15 grams crunchy cereal, dash of cinnamon, pumpkin pie spice, vanilla extract, and a bit of almond milk if needed. I mix everything up, except for the crunchy cereal, and let it sit in the fridge for usually about 10 minutes, sometimes longer. Then right before I’m about to eat it, I add in the cereal. That way it stays crunchy and doesn’t get soggy. πŸ˜€

      • Tracey October 18, 2012 at 11:27 pm #

        Thank you for responding so quick with details. I really appreciate it as I would love to make many of the things you post here:)

  2. Theresa @ aspoonfulofsunshine October 19, 2012 at 12:42 am #

    Truth! College is definitely hard work, but like you said it, life eventually all works out πŸ™‚ For being so busy/stressed I think you are during an amazing job of eating really healthy, which is more than the normal college student can do! I make a similar chocolate “mouse” all the time as a nighttime snack. That stuff is SO good!

  3. Amanda @ .running with spoons. October 19, 2012 at 3:33 am #

    I think it’s so great that you’re able to overcome that all or nothing mentality. I wasn’t, unfortunately, which is why I quit blogging for close to a year when life got hectic… I couldn’t blog the way I wanted, so I just chose not to blog at all. Ridiculous. Your way is much better πŸ™‚ And I love what you said about not worrying, because it’s so, so true. We waste so much of our time and health worrying about things, when they always seem to work out in the end anyways. Hope you’re doing well, love ❀

  4. sarah October 19, 2012 at 4:02 am #

    Pssht, late. You can share your eats any ‘ ole time you want, I won’t mind a bit:).
    Your food prep, & ability to put to together amazing, healthy, delish meals & snacks, never fails to impress me! Even amidst your busy life.
    Xxx

  5. Jenn October 19, 2012 at 4:40 am #

    I love you. Great mentality girl, keep it up! And just am FYI you’re an awesome blogger so when I finally aaw this post in my reader I thought “wahooooooo”!!!! And I wasn’t disappointed πŸ™‚

  6. Emma October 19, 2012 at 7:22 am #

    all your meals look delish! what kind of bread do you use for toast? πŸ™‚

    • Sweetly Fit October 19, 2012 at 2:01 pm #

      I don’t really have one specific brand. I just buy whatever whole grain one looks the best at the time!

  7. plateitnclimb October 19, 2012 at 1:06 pm #

    You are so right. Life and especially college life is about finding balance. I didn’t do that all last year. Yes I got the grade but I also lost a lot of friends and missed some amazing opportunities. Love what you say about it all working out, just maybe not the way we want/expect. But there is a plan! Your food is beautiful! Especially that omelet!

  8. Meg October 19, 2012 at 3:56 pm #

    AHHH I LOVE YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    It’s ok to be late babe and I love how you said you don’t need to blog every day NOR do you have to NOT ever blog again. I was just talking to Sara (Nourish and Flourish) about that yesterday!!!!!

    I am proud of YOU for not blogging until YOU found the right time πŸ™‚

    I love you and I need to copy cat your first two meals and make that brownie thing

  9. paoang October 19, 2012 at 6:31 pm #

    I really loved this post! I completely understand how you feel. About everything – from having millions of pictures and not remembering when u ate those foods to learning how to manage life in college haha. It’s crazy, but we can do this. It’s been a year and a half and I am still learning everyday.

    Have a great weekend!

  10. Lisa October 19, 2012 at 7:47 pm #

    Ah, the old all or nothing mentality. That is a tough one to get over and something I struggle with every now and again. I’ve learnt a lot from the past and know that thinking that way isn’t positive or helpful. I’m glad you’ve been overcoming that mindset! And keeping up with the yummy eats too obviously:)

  11. KatsHealthCorner October 20, 2012 at 4:28 am #

    I’m so glad that you are taking the most out of the moment and enjoying college. I will be heading up to Idaho in a couple months, so I’ll be in the same situation as you in college. But I hope to make the most of it and really have a good time. πŸ™‚

  12. Kailey October 21, 2012 at 5:56 pm #

    “things will always workout” –> SO TRUE. Even as a junior in college I keep reminding myself that I have balanced life before and done just fine. Its a struggle, but being a dietetics major keeps ya busy!

Leave a Reply

