Chocolate Covered Is the Way To Go

8 Jan

Hello hello!

I know, look who showed up to blog today. I think you all are familiar by now with my sporadic posting at this point. I blame life. Things have a way of always coming up don’t they? I’m just trying to go with the flow.

To be honest, I’ve been dealing with some health issues and trying to get some things figured and taken care of right now, so that has taken priority. I an hopeful it is something I can overcome, however I will say one thing… having your health/life threatened really makes you appreciate what you have. Thank goodness for my sweet mom who is willing to drop everything in her life without a second thought to come support me. I am a very independent person, but I’m realizing I can’t do everything on my own. I need help sometimes. We all do. So everyone, learn along with me…be thankful for your loved ones and spend time with them. Share laughs, share stories, and be there for them as there are there for you, too. There’s nothing much more important in life than love.

Little miss Cleo has still been keeping me busy as well.

IMG 4488

We’ve had a few snow storms that here that have made the potty training process quite interesting, haha. But she quickly found out that she is a fan of playing in it. She looks like a little snow bunny hopping up and down in it. I have to watch her carefully because her color matches the snow pretty closely so she gets lost in it!

IMG 4508

IMG 4472

Yeah, she looks all cute and innocent. But that’s about the only time I can snap a decent picture of her. What you don’t see is the other 95% of the time when she’s running around like a wild animal. 🙂

I figured I would go ahead and post a few recent eats for the upcoming What I Ate Wednesday and be ahead of the game for once. That doesn’t happen often as you know!

Breakfast

IMG 4491

I used to make this oatmeal variation a lot but just recently started making it again. You cook up your oatmeal like normal on the stove top, and while that’s cooking away I microwave some liquid egg whites in a bowl. When the eggs are done, I take two knifes and criss cross cut the egg whites into tiny pieces. Once the oats are nice and cooked up, I add in the chopped up egg whites along with blueberries (or whatever else happens to float my boat that morning) along with the usual suspects: a ton of cinnamon, a few drops of vanilla extract, and a splash of almond milk. What you’re left with is a huge bowl of deliciousness that will leave you completely satisfied. I like to keep the oatmeal to egg white proportions about equal, usually 3/4 cup dry oats (cooked up like normal with milk or water) and 3/4 cup liquid egg whites. (cooked, chopped, added at the end.)

Lunch

IMG 4492

just salad lovin’.

hard boiled eggs, ham, smoked salmon, olives, butter lettuce, Trader Joes champagne dressing.

IMG 4477

sandwich with collard greens, ham, provolone, mayo, s&p. pretzels!

Snacks

IMG 4494

microwave muffin top with pb and banana

IMG 4499

It’s baaaaack. The Green Monster shakes have returned. For a while now, I’ve been on the “eat your calories” instead of “drink your calories” train, because that usually is what satisfies me most. But I’ve been craving some shakes lately and they are hitting the spot. I’m also trying to amp up the nutrients in my diet, so these are the perfect easy way to do so. I like to add spinach to mine of course, but also my favorite green powder:

IMG 4501

Incredible Greens. Filled with nothing but incredible things. he he.

The above shake contained the following:

  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1 cup ice cubes
  • 1 heaping scoop chocolate protein powder (I used Giant Sports brand, a good protein blend that I recommend)
  • 1 scoop Incredible Greens powder
  • 1/2 frozen banana
  • 2 handfuls fresh spinach
  • 1 tbsp instant expresso
  • 1 tsp coconut extract
  • 1 spoonful coconut oil
  • pinch of guar and xanthan gums for thickening
  • pinch of stevia

The color can be so deceiving….this was oh so amazingly good.

Dinner

IMG 4502

I made Courtney’s Chicken Parmesan Burgers and I can’t say enough how good they turned out. These babies were packed full of the good stuff and made 4 huge patties!

IMG 4505

I served mine along with roasted rainbow slaw and marinara, and a toasted garlic  wrap (filled with butter, nutritional yeast, garlic powder)

Dessert

IMG 4495

protein pudding: 1 heaping scoop Giant Sports chocolate protein powder, 2 tbsp cream cheese, 1/2 cup greek yogurt, 1 tbsp dark cocoa powder, pinch of stevia, splash of milk. Topped with some super dark mint chocolate. Mhmmm.

Coming soon!

IMG 4513

Oh boy. I have a new chocolate obsession. It has to do with this wonderful thing called “sweet and salty” and if you didn’t know, when you put the two together, it turns into something magical.  I will do a little posty post on those chocolate covered pretzels very soon. They exceeded my expectations, being a sugar free and protein packed version! Oh yes.

And that’s a wrap. It feels good to be blogging again. Like I’ve said before, I can never stay away for too long. Plus, it would be cruel to show you those chocolate covered pretzels and not share the super simple recipe in a timely manner. I just wouldn’t do that to you guys. 🙂

Kristi

17 Responses to “Chocolate Covered Is the Way To Go”

  1. rpage64@charter.net January 8, 2013 at 6:03 pm #

    Hi,

    I read your blog and am looking for that microwave muffin top recipe, where might i find that?

    Thank you

    • Sweetly Fit January 8, 2013 at 7:29 pm #

      Hi! Thanks for pointing that out; I accidentally put the wrong link up. You should be able to click on “microwave muffin top” in the post and it will bring you to my recipe. Enjoy!

  2. Kailey January 8, 2013 at 6:12 pm #

    I feel ya with the health issues – I got a double whammy a few days ago and still don’t know how to process it…mentally drained, upset and frustrated. Hope all is well for you 🙂
    chicken parm burgers look excellent!

    • Liz (formerly VeggieGirl) January 8, 2013 at 6:46 pm #

      I’m with both of you girls 😦 I’m praying that we all get 100% well soon and that things get more positive in all aspects of life.

  3. Sweetly Fit January 8, 2013 at 7:31 pm #

    So sorry for everyone else having health issues, too. My thoughts and prayers are with you girls! ❤

  4. Trixie January 8, 2013 at 8:07 pm #

    Wishing you better health! BTW: Missed your fantastic meal ideas. You’re blog is my FAVORITE! I also love all the detail in this post regarding the recipes, so helpful!

  5. Yaara Leve January 8, 2013 at 8:12 pm #

    Hey Kristi,
    Glad to see you’re back! I always enjoy your posts. I’m sorry you’re struggling with health issues. I hope you heal soon and just take good care of yourself.
    PS: That chocolate pudding concoction looks amazing

  6. Lisa January 8, 2013 at 9:14 pm #

    Eeee! Your puppy is THE cutest! I’m so sorry to hear about the recent diagnosis with health issues, I hope everything is okay. If you ever need an ear, I’m always here. On the plus, all your eats look pretty fabulous!

  7. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate January 9, 2013 at 12:54 am #

    Those chicken burgers look amazing!

  8. Amanda @ .running with spoons. January 9, 2013 at 2:06 am #

    Eep! I’m really hoping that it’s nothing too serious, hun, and that it all gets resolved soon! Seems like a lot of people have been dealing with health related issues lately, but it’s great to hear that you’re surrounded by loving people who can be there to take care of you.

  9. Meg January 9, 2013 at 3:24 am #

    I hope everything is ok, love ❤ praying for you!!

    p.s. your dessert always gets me 😉

    p.s. #2 I MISS YOU

  10. jessielovestorun January 9, 2013 at 4:19 am #

    Sending my prayers to you hunnie. I’m not sure what’s going on but just know were all here supporting you. If you ever need to talk, please do not hesitate to email me “jessiejoshua21@yahoo.com”.

    –I’ve never heard of anyone else putting cream cheese in a pudding mixture. Usually it’s just cottage cheese (which I’m not a fan of), so this rocks!!

  11. paoang January 9, 2013 at 5:45 pm #

    I am sorry to hear that you’ve been dealing with health issues, but hopefully everything will be okay and it’s nothing serious. I am happy that you have a supportive family who would drop everything in a heartbeat to care for you! Also, your food pictures look amazing! Everything looks delicious as always!

    PS – Your puppy ❤

  12. Courtney January 9, 2013 at 6:50 pm #

    So glad to hear you liked the chicken burgers! They are definitely favorites of ours 🙂

  13. jessiebearwhat January 9, 2013 at 9:55 pm #

    mmmmm those chocolate covered pretzels look fab. And awwww the puppy is so cute! That little faccee!

  14. Fit 'N' Well Mommy (@FitNWellMommy) January 10, 2013 at 6:29 am #

    Ooh, I love your muffin top recipe! The last microwave muffin/cupcake that I made didn’t turn out well, so I’ll have to try your recipe. On another note, I hope everything is okay. I’m sending you good vibes and positive thoughts your way!

  15. plateitnclimb January 14, 2013 at 7:11 pm #

    I hope you are OK! All of your food looks amazing as always. I really want to try the egg white oats and I love the variety in that salad!

Leave a Reply

