I’m Back-with product reviews!

27 Oct

Hello!

Wow, I can’t believe how long its been since I have been able to blog. I have put a lot of work into this website over the years. I started this site in high school and now I’m finishing up my last year of college! Crazy! I am still in the dietetics program, slowly but surely making my way towards becoming a registered dietitian. 

It has been several months since my last update but I REALLY hope that I can now get back into a more regular blogging schedule. It will be a loose “schedule” but I’ll make sure not to just fall off the face of the planet again. 🙂 

School and work have been keeping me constantly busy but I realized that I find it important to keep this website going and stay connected with all my web friends and anyone else who wants to come along for the ride! So I will be popping in from time to time with product reviews, recipes, my fitness plans, life updates, and more. 

So, to start things off I do have a few products that I have gotten the special opportunity to try recently. 

The first is-Pines Wheat Grass—>

IMG 4803

From the website: 

“Just one teaspoonful of PINES Wheat Grass powder, dissolved in water or juice, provides the same amount of nutrition as a serving of deep-green, leafy vegetables. Seven wheat grass tablets will do the same. 

Pound for pound, PINES Wheat Grass is many times richer in chlorophyll and iron than spinach. Its protein level averages 25 percent and it contains virtually every vitamin known, along with 20 amino acids, including the eight that are considered essential for human health.”

Why I like wheatgrass:

Wheatgrass is one of Earth’s best sources of chlorophyll which has dozens of health benefits including naturally antibacterial, purifies the liver, neutralizes toxins in the body, improves blood sugar problems, improved tooth decay, improves digestions and encourages regular bowel movements, and removes heavy metals from the body….just to name a few! 

How I use wheatgrass:

I like to toss a teaspoon of wheatgrass into smoothies/protein shakes for an added nutritional boost. I also like to make the following concoction to start my day off right: 

Morning Wheatgrass Cocktail

  • 1 heaping tsp wheatgrass
  • juice from 1/2 squeezed lemon
  • 1 tbsp apple cider vinegar
  • pinch of stevia
  • 1/2 cup warm water
Using a shaker bottle, mix everything together and shake it all up. Gulp it down and enjoy a nice boost of energy! This mix is also great for digestion. 

 

The second product is Green Virgin Products Moringa Powder—>

IMG 4802

From the website: 

“Moringa is the most nutrient dense plant ever tested. It has more vitamins, minerals, proteins, anti-oxidants and amino-acids than any other food. If you like drinking the moringa powder in juice or water, then get the Moringa Ultimate or Micro Fine as it dissolves more easily than the regular moringa powder. Our Moringa Ultimate and Micro Fine powder also have a higher bio-availability. For very picky eaters, the capsules are a great way to take moringa. If you like tea, you will love our moringa tea. We like to use honey to sweeten it.

Just as an apple turns brown when cut and exposed to the air, Moringa is very susceptible to oxidation. If it is not packaged properly most of the nutritional value will be destroyed before you even open the package. So it is imperative that moringa must be packaged in oxygen free (not just air tight) packaging that also blocks 100% of light.

Our competitors sell moringa capsules in white translucent pill bottles. Light can penetrate those destroying the nutritional value. That’s the reason why all our moringa is packed in an expensive 3 layer, resealable pouch. Then we put an oxygen absorber inside the package and double seal it. The pouch shuts out 100% of the light, and the oxygen absorber sucks up all the oxygen inside the pouch. All our moringa products are packaged this way, and we are the only manufacturer to take the time and effort to do so. That is why our moringa is more potent than any other brand.”

Why I like Moringa:

I had never heard of Moringa before getting this chance to review the Green Virgins Moringa powder. It, like wheatgrass, is chock full of good nutrition. It has 10x the vitamin A of carrots, 17x the calcium of milk, 15x the potassium of bananas, and 25x the iron of spinach. But moringa is especially awesome because it has adaptogenic properties which means it helps your body deal with stress…making it a great product for just about everybody! We all deal with stress one way or another on a daily basis and one of my secret weapons to combat this is using adaptogens. I was already using tulsi tea and maca powder for adaptogens in my diet, but now I have another favorite…Moringa! Moringa is commonly used in Ayurvedic  medicine to treat a variety of ailments as well. With using moringa powder, I have noticed increased energy and mental clarity, all without any caffeine! This is perfect for me, being sensitive to caffeine.

How I use Moringa:

I have been adding this powder to my drinks and especially my shakes. Here is my delicious treat I have been making almost daily:

Moringa Ice Cream Shake

  • 1 large frozen banana
  • 1/4 cup frozen fruit (I like strawberries or mixed berries)
  • 1 cup coconut milk*
  • 1 tsp moringa powder
  • 1 scoop protein powder (I’ve been using MRM veggie elite protein powder)
  • 1 tbsp raw cacao powder (or cocoa powder) 
  • pinch of salt and vanilla extract
  • 2-3 ice cubes
You can add more/less milk to get your desired consistency Blend together and enjoy an awesome creamy shake! 

Special thanks to Cherie for sending me these products to review!


Kristi

2 Responses to “I’m Back-with product reviews!”

  1. megtherhn October 27, 2014 at 1:49 pm #

    mmmmm all such great products to be using 😀 you and i have such similar paths and interests, i am so happy to call you one of my closest friends ❤ lets plan a phone call soon ok love? 🙂

Leave a Reply

