Shrimp pasta with marinara cream sauce

7 Jul

It’s Recipe Thursday! Totally just made that up, but just go along. I promise it will be worth it. 🙂

013

This is a meal that I ended up throwing together on a whim one night, and the result was pretty tasty. I didn’t use very strict measurements, but I will do my best to break it down.

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb bag of uncooked shrimp, thawed out and shells pulled off
  • about 1 cup (or more, just use your judgement) marinara sauce (could also use tomato sauce)
  • about 1/2 cup blended silken tofu
  • 1/4 cup nutritional yeast
  • 1 small container green chillies
  • 1 small can of tomatoes, chopped
  • small onion, chopped
  • couple gloves of garlic
  • couple handfuls of spinach
  • seasonings of your choice (I used garlic powder, basil, oregano, and pepper)
  • your choice of pasta, about 4 servings or so (I used spelt spaghetti noodles)

Start by cooking up your pasta according to package directions and set aside. Then add your onion and garlic in a pan with a drizzle of oil (I used coconut oil because it is one of the safest oils for high heat) and cook until it starts to look translucent. Then add your tomato and green chillies. Cook for a few more minutes before adding in your shrimp and spinach.

002

005

Once that is all nice and cooked, transfer to a container to set, along with the pasta:

006

Next, make your sauce! Combine the marinara, silken tofu, nutritional yeast, and seasonings in a bowl and mix together well.003

It will end up being nice and creamy and look like this:

004 

Now you are ready to pour the sauce over the the shrimp pasta and veggies and ta-da:

007

You can now toss to combine if you would like, but I like it all on top!

See, this is what I love about food: literally anything can be made healthy. There is no need to live without any of your favorite foods! Pasta, cake, ice cream…I eat it all, with my own healthy touches.

Happy Thursday to everyone!

Kristi

14 Responses to “Shrimp pasta with marinara cream sauce”

  1. Alexandra July 7, 2011 at 2:51 pm #

    OMG silken tofu and shrimp?! Who would’ve thunk! 😀
    I love this protein-packed recipe, next time we buy shrimp I’m definitely trying it!

  2. Katie July 7, 2011 at 3:29 pm #

    Yummy! It has really been forever since we had shrimp in our house! I miss shrimp!

    great recipe girl!! xoxo ❤

  3. Cassie July 7, 2011 at 4:01 pm #

    I love how anything can be made healthy. Shrimp is one thing that grosses me out to look at raw but is so worth it in the end! Looks so tasty.

  4. Jenny July 7, 2011 at 4:10 pm #

    What a great recipe, I still have yet to make a shrimp pasta!

  5. Er July 7, 2011 at 5:18 pm #

    That looks awesome! Shrimp and pasta are my favorite- this will be a great new recipe to try!

  6. debbiecutieface July 7, 2011 at 6:22 pm #

    looks yummy! I love shrimp

  7. allieksmith July 7, 2011 at 8:05 pm #

    I think you should be a chef! Have you ever seen Dinner Impossible? You would be so good at that!

    • Sweet Cheeks July 7, 2011 at 11:39 pm #

      I would LOVE to be on that show!! haha, thank you!

  8. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! July 7, 2011 at 9:30 pm #

    This looks delicious! I love that you can make a creamy, rich dressing using super healthy, natural ingredients! Can’t wait to try this out!

  9. Sarah - feeedingbrainandbody July 8, 2011 at 12:27 am #

    This sauce looks really great! Excellent way to get a little bit extra protein too!

  10. Lauren July 8, 2011 at 2:12 am #

    This looks fabulous….I love nooch now!!! And shrimp are always good 😉

  11. Jess July 8, 2011 at 1:21 pm #

    Um, talk about YUMMY!! I also just read your WIAW/WIWW and LOVED your daily eats 🙂

  12. ilovefetacheese July 9, 2011 at 12:47 pm #

    man i love the shrimpies lately!! yummmmm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Cooking in Mass Quantities « Sweetly Fit - October 1, 2012

    […] shrimp pasta with marinara cream sauce (can sub any protein for shrimp) […]

Leave a comment